Venturing Foward into 2012

Two posts ago and not long after New Year’s Day, I posted about my goals for 2012.  Now I am revising and adding to the list, so be prepared for all of the changes that will come in the next few months!

Goal #1: For the Writer: The Writer’s Corner

Strike a Spark started out as a book review site.  Now, I’m making it a site for the writer as well.  I’ve already published a small Writer’s Corner that is, quite frankly, sparse and uninspiring; the current message posted on the page (“This part of Strike A Spark is currently under construction.  In other words, if you think it’s a little skimpy, then you are right”) is so true, it’s not funny.  At all.  So, I plan on really fleshing out the Writer’s Corner until it’s a comprehensive reference.  I will also post my tips and tricks here on the main blog so that you can read them as soon as I write them.

If you use this part of Strike a Spark, I would love to hear feedback from you so that I can make it better.  Just post it in the “Comments” section of the respective post or page that you’ve read.  Thanks.

Goal #2: For the Writer: Reviews

Along with revising the Writer’s Corner, I will review more books aimed at authors: Goodness knows that I’ve read enough of them!  Like Gail Carson Levine’s Writing Magic, Jan Venolia’s Write Right, and many, many books on the subject of publishing and self-publishing.  So, starting with my next post, you can look forward to that, too!

Goal #3: The Blog

Like I said before, Strike a Spark was started as a book review site.  Well, starting with this post, Strike a Spark will be about more than media.  Not only do I plan on updating and revising The Writer’s Corner (see point 1), and adding more nonfiction reviews aimed at writers (see point 2), but I am going to make this blog a little more personal.  Why?  It’s simple: I’m an author, too, and not just for book reviews!  So why should I limit my posts to book reviews?  Answer: I shouldn’t!  As I go through the journey that all authors make, I hope to share my triumphs an tribulations with you, here on this blog.

Side Note: The Header

If you read my New Year’s post, then you may recall that I promised a shiny new header for the site.  Fear not, because I am not breaking that promise.  I just wanted to say that if you want to see some of my work, check out the Cyber Creations Club blog here: http://cybercreationsclub.wordpress.com/.  We might not have any artwork up on the main page at the time that you visit, but never fear: Just go to the Chibi Chronicles tab to read our ongoing comic, or to the Member’s List to check out some images.

What's on your mind?

