Home » Reviews » Nonfiction/Educational » Book Review: Making Miniature Food and Market Stalls

Book Review: Making Miniature Food and Market Stalls

It’s been a while since I posted a nonfiction book review, so here you go.  Hope you enjoy!

For realistic-looking and authentic miniature food, look no farther than Making Miniature Food and Market Stalls by Angie Scarr.  Written so that even a beginner (like me) can learn to work with polymer clay, this book covers techniques such as caning, which involves rolling out long, thin canes of clay that are then put together and/or shaped into the final product.  The projects are so detailed that should you cut the meat pie, for example, you would see the mixed meat center–they really are lifelike, and look ready to eat!

One thing to keep in mind is that the projects in Making Miniature Food and Market Stalls is focused on Victorian-style foods.  This shouldn’t be too much of an issue, though, as the techniques can be adapted to other time periods.

I don’t really remember how I found the book, and I checked it out from the library on more than a whim than anything.  Minutes after checking out the first few projects, I was hungry.  That more than anything should tell you how delectable the finished pieces look.  I haven’t made anything yet, but only because I couldn’t find my clay (guess I have to buy some more), but when I do, I’ll post pictures!  And please let me know if you make some!

~River

Talk to me! What do you think?

