NaNoWriMo 2012 Results

So another NaNo has come and gone.  And here are my results!

  • 17,000*/50,000 words written

*I didn’t write 17,000 words exactly.  I’m rounding.  Down.

Do I hear you asking why I didn’t finish my word goal?  The reason is quite simple.  I’m surprised, in fact, that I didn’t anticipate it at the beginning of the month.

I got bored.

Or more accurately, I realized that NaNo meant my hobby was becoming my job.  And I didn’t like that.  See, writing three pages a day is great!  But it’s pretty darned hard to do every single day without burning out. And so while I didn’t quit writing, I did decide around the 15th that 50,000 words was pushing it.  Still, I don’t view this year’s NaNo experience as a failure. . . but more on that below.

  • 6 chapters completed

Woohoo!  Did you hear that?  I wrote 6 chapters in a single month!  I’ve never completed that many chapters in that short a time span before.  So that was a total success in my eyes!  And which leads me to my next point.

  • 10% of the plot finished

This year, contrary to the slapdash way I am used to writing stories, I plotted everything out in the two days before NaNo began.

  • 5 out of 30** characters named

**Give or take a few.

Much thanks to Cloud (Cloud’s World Of:) and Koko (Lollipops and Rainbows) for helping me with names.  My name-list has grown to double the length thanks to you two!   *hugs*  Now I must find names for the remaining characters. . . .

  • 22 games of Mah-Jong played

Mah-Jong, obviously, is a vital part of my writing process.  It’s also one of the few games installed on my laptop, originally because I thought it wouldn’t distract me too much from writing.  (I was wrong.)

  • Overall Report

Was it a success?  Undoubtedly so!  Though I failed to reach my word goal, I actually wrote something on the book 27/30 days. . . which is more than I have managed to do in the last few months.  So rather than looking at it like I’ve “lost” NaNoWriMo this year, I think I’ve won much more.  Namely, I found my love for writing fantasy again–and that is something I’m grateful for.

How did your NaNo project go this year?  Any things you’d like to do differently next year?

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012 Results

What's on your mind?

