Home » Awards » Koko Strikes Again! (Or, The Reader Appreciation Award!)

Koko Strikes Again! (Or, The Reader Appreciation Award!)

So Koko, mastermind blogger of Lollipops and Rainbows, in her deviousness has seen fit to nominate me for yet another award.  Now, before I get any further, let me say this:  Koko is awesome.  Go check out her blog.

Reader Appreciation Award

I feel vaguely undeserving of this lovely award because I haven’t been the best blogger lately. . . . Nevertheless, I am also very grateful to Koko and to the readers of my blog.  Thank you!

The Rules

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Attach the icon to your site.
  3. Answer the attached questions.
  4. Nominate six bloggers who you feel deserve this award and notify them about their nominations.

The Questions

1. What is your favorite color?

Blue.  Why don’t I make my theme blue, you ask?  Because red is a close second.

2. What is your favorite animal?

Lovable ones.  That’s kind of vague on purpose; the reason is that I keep meeting new species who are just so willing to love.  There are of course the standard dogs, cats, and rabbits, but a hamster surprised me one time (go on, laugh if you must) and pigs are also great companions if you don’t, you know, tick them off.  And so on.

3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Water.  Preferably of the freshwater variety.  Sometimes made into boiled leaf juice. . . .

There's always time for tea...

There’s always time for tea. . . (By brina_head)

4. What is your favorite number?

43.

5. What is your favorite day of the week?

Any day that involves the things I like to do.

6. What is your favorite flower?

My love belongs to the red, red rose. . .

Cropped Small Red Rose

Cropped Small Red Rose (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

. . . especially the ones I make myself out of clay.  Sadly, I have no pictures right now, but I will post some when I take them.

7. What is your passion?

Creativity.  I love both making things myself and seeing the original works of others.  That’s why I love reading–and writing.  Cooing over hand-sculpted works–and attempting to sculpt some myself.  Listening to Vocaloid songs–and trying to make some myself with the Megpoid English trial.

Are you sensing a pattern here?

8. Do you watch television?

Technically, I watch DVDs.  šŸ˜›

9. Who is your favorite author?

Why all these hard questions???  Right now I guess J.R.R. Tolkien is my favorite, his books are so brilliant.

10. Do you like 80s movies?

Depends.  Were movies I like made in the eighties?

11. How do you like your eggs?

Can I steal Koko’s response?  . . . No?  Drat.

12. When did you discover blogging?

In 2010, I think, when I started researching social media.  Blogging seemed like an appropriate outlet for all of the opinions I had on various formed of media, and thus Strike A Spark was born!  Though I’ve expanded to include more than book reviews lately. . . .

13. Why do you like to blog?

Because it’s challenging enough to be fun, yet not too challenging (or repetitive) to be a chore.  ‘Cause if it resembled actual work, you can bet I wouldn’t be doing it.

The Nominees

Cloud of Cloud’s World Of:. Were you expecting this one?  Cloud is the perfect person to lead this list.  She posts about really cute and generally awesome things (like Peter Hollens and Lindsey Sterling’s version of the Skyrim theme song), so go check out her blog if you have some free time.

Purin of purin.arisu.cross (known as ~SalvationMachine on deviantART).  A great friend of mine whose posts are sadly few and far between due to her extremely busy schedule and greater online presence at deviantART (but mostly because of her schedule). Though I understand and forgive her necessary busyness, maybe this will encourage her write more. (Hey, I can hope!)

David Gaughran of Let’s Get Digital.  This independent author posts really in-depth, well-thought out articles that are immensely useful not only for indie writers, but anyone who wants to make it in the publishing industry.  He’s also written a book on publishing digitally, and he’s working on another book right now about marketing.  And, oh yeah, he’s also written several fictional short stories and novels.  Anyway, his site has been an interesting place to lurk for the past few years–especially in the comments, where readers often have extensive conversations on the topic du jour–so I hope he’ll consider this nomination be a “thank you” from one grateful reader.

AshSilverLock of Fabulous Realms.  Another self-published author and article writer, Ash posts well-thought-out articles about myth and fantasy.  I found Fabulous Realms last year when an article was Freshly Pressed, hit the Follow button, and have enjoyed reading about such varied subjects as Thomas the Rhymer, the history of Dwarves, and the many faces of winter ever since.

Richard Van As and Ivan Owen of coming up short handed (the Robohand blog).  In 2011, Rich lost four fingers from his right hand.  Determined to overcome the disability, he teamed up with Ivan to create a prosthetic: the Robohand.  (This is the very very short version.  Check out their About page to learn more).  Anyway, they finished their first Robohand for someone else just a few weeks ago, and are releasing the designs for free, and did I mention that they live 10,00 miles away from each other and still made this happen? The world needs more people like this.  Go watch history in the making by checking out their blog.

Well, that’s it for today.  Be warned though, there is one more award in the works!  Keep an eye out for it, okay?

~River

Talk to me! What do you think?

