An Elegantly Spooky Soiree

Woo, three weeks in already!  Are you getting excited for Halloween yet?  I know I am.  ^^  This week’s theme for the Month-Long Halloween Extravaganza! is Awesome Halloween Parties, so I’ve been working on a plan for an Elegantly Spooky Soiree.  Unfortunately, my schedule wouldn’t allow me to host/attend any parties this year, so I figure this is a plan for next Halloween. . . Well, if I have a whole year to fine-tune it, it’ll be one awesome party!

Setting the Scene

So, for starters, let’s prepare the setting.  I’m going to be lazy efficient and say that the inspiration board I posted last week would be perfect for this.  Here is is again for your viewing enjoyment~

Elegantly Spooky Interior
Inspiration board made with Polyvore.

Yes–it’s the return of the Elegantly Spooky room!  Though some of the items I found were rather expensive for a single party (the chandelier, for example, was several hundred dollars), so I wonder if there are DIY opportunities here. . . ? Certainly the candlesticks/holders can be done at home, and the posters as well.  I will have to look into this further. . . .

*On an almost unrelated note, I think that any Halloween party would be awesome if held in a mansion with secret passageways.  And if there was a scavenger hunt using those secret passageways.  Or possibly a murder-mystery game. . . no?

Simply Scrumptious Bites

A vital part of any soiree is the menu, and here I’ve prepared a simple one using recipes from around the web. While I haven’t tried all of these recipes yet, they all sound edible (at least) and look amazing.  A battered table covered with a tattered tablecloth will present these morsels to their best advantage.

Now, I know I’m avoiding most tacky Halloween ideas–after all, the theme is elegantly spooky, not typical Halloween–but some of these foods won me over.  I mean, worms in dirt!  Blood-red cherry punch!  Frog spawn in swamp water!

. . . I regret nothing.

Appetizers

Pickled Brains (Cauliflower)
Picked Brains (from Delish.com)

Begin the evening with a selection of finger foods:  Severed Toes (hot dogs in pie crust bandages), a Saucy Spider (pizza dough art with marinara sauce), and Deviled Gremlin Eggs (marbled green deviled eggs) fill the table.  Add Pickled Brains (cauliflower floating in a murky liquid) for effect–though I hear it’s quite tasty, too!

Main Course

Worms in Dirt (hot dogs and black beans)
Worms in Dirt (from Delish.com)

Begin with Eye-Popping Soup (homemade tomato soup with mozzarella/olive eyes), then move on to Meatloaf or Burgers–easy favorites that you can add an Addams Family twist to by claiming they are made from zebra or giraffe meat. Mm!  If that’s not enough meat for you, or if you have picky eaters who just can’t enjoy meatloaf no matter how hard you entice them, or you just want to add some effect, serve Worms in Dirt (hotdogs and black beans) as well.  Take a breather from all the spooky entrees with some relatively normal sides: Sweet ‘n’ Tangy Carrots and this Apple Sweet Potato Bake both look good.

Dessert

Black-Hearted Candy Apples
Black-Hearted Candy Apples (from Taste of Home)

Spooky Fingers (pretzels dipped in chocolate with pumpkin seed nails) and Chocolate Mice make a good chocolate-y start. Add Black-Hearted Candy Apples (color them green for Poison Apples) and scatter non-spooky classics like Pumpkin Ice Cream, Butterscotch Pudding, Homemade Peanut Butter Cups, and Licorice Caramels around the room.  Don’t forget your favorite classic All Hallow’s Eve candies!  I like candy corn myself.

Beverages

Blood-Red Cherry Punch
Blood-Red Cherry Punch (from Food Network)

Of course your guests much have something to drink!  Lay out several crystal or glass bowls with different concoctions: Blood-Red Punch (cherry juice and ginger ale), Frog Spawn and Swamp Water Tea (tapioca pearls in your favorite green liquid) add the ghastly element we’re going for, while Apricot Iced Tea keeps the setup from looking too Christmas-y.

Alternatively, set up a mad-scientist-inspired table with soda water and different-colored fruit juices and syrups such as cranberry, grape, and orange juice and grenadine syrup.  And if you’re in a Harry Potter mood (always a good mood to be in), add homemade Pumpkin Juice and Frozen Butterbeer.

The Finishing Touches

So the decorations are put in place, the menu is planned, and you’re already working on your costume.  What remains for our party?

Hmm, well, there’s games and entertainment, of course.  I think that would best be covered in its own post, so I’ll leave it for now.  Otherwise, what about music?  I know that Cloud did a cute post on hiding speakers + a gallery of Halloween music last week.  Why don’t you check it out?  And while I’m on the subject, here are a few additional soundtrack picks.

. . . It’s really amazing how much classical music lends itself well to All Hallow’s Eve. . . .  And yes, there is video game music in there too.  ^^  Be warned that both the Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess themes are extended to thirty minutes, so that’s a lot of repeats.

And I know Cloud posted the Overture already, but I love the Phantom of the Opera, so. . . here it is again.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the “We Have All Been Blind” part’s instrumental.  It would have been perfect. 😦

So!  If you read all that, congrats!  I hope I was able to inspire, or at least entertain you, a bit.  Next up is a post on Cloud’s World Of. . . I think she’s been talking about a certain spooky dessert, so you should visit her blog on Wednesday and find out what she’s been concocting~!

~River

2 thoughts on “An Elegantly Spooky Soiree

  1. I feel like a failure.

    Yes, it was schoolwork. The schoolwork load from hell. I literally just finished up with the work a few minutes ago. Ergo, I have been unbanned from the Net…for now. I’ll probably ‘make up’ those two posts sometime soon. If I forget, guilt-trip me into a blogging spree.

    Like

What's on your mind?

