Home » fiction » Haiku Time! Rainsong, Puppies > Chocolate, and Aria’s Request

Haiku Time! Rainsong, Puppies > Chocolate, and Aria’s Request

Welcome back, everyone!  I can’t believe it’s been close to a year since I was really engaged with this blog. Time flies when you’re writer-blocked!  Actually, no, it drags, and you feel useless and lazy and unproductive (even though none of those things are true).  Ah, but let’s not talk about that right now! The important thing is that the Muse is back, now, and it looks like clear sailing for now!

The story behind today’s post is simple: I told Cloud, “Let’s write haiku!”  Why haiku?  No reason in particular!

So we wrote some haiku together.  At the end of the exercise, we had six, so we split them up: Cloud posted three yesterday, and we have three more today.

Enjoy!

Rainsong

Rain patters softly.

A lullaby of water

protecting my dreams.

How well do you sleep when it’s raining?  Some of the soundest sleep I’ve ever had is when the rain keeps a constant little murmuring on the roof. I’ve even been known to sleep through heavy rainfall! (But if there’s thunder close by, I wake up.)  It could be due to the white noise effect, because where I live there’s been a lot of tree-clearing lately for new developments or because the trees are too near to powerlines, so the noise of traffic and trains in the distance has been progressively louder over the years.  But I prefer to think of it as a rainsong, a gentle lullaby to protect my dreams.

Puppies > Chocolate

Happy puppy grins

lift my spirits more than the

finest chocolate.

It’s no secret that chocolate is my favorite dessert.  Whether due to the great taste or whatever happiness-inducing chemicals are in chocolate, it always lifts my mood.  No matter how good chocolate is, though, it takes second place for the power of dogs to make my day.  Ours at home are always so happy themselves, it’s difficult not to be happy when they’re around!

Aria’s Request

Playful wind-sprites:

What tales would you tell to me?

Whisper in my ear.

If the wind could talk, what tales would it tell?  Aria knows!  I love the image of nature sprites sharing their knowledge.  Here, the focus is on the wind, but how about ancient trees?  The stones beneath your feet?  If they could talk, what do you think they would say?

* * *

And now, just for fun, a challenge:

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to write a haiku in the next ten minutes!  Subject matter, imagery–that’s all up to you.  Just remember, it needs to follow the 5-7-5 syllable count.  Simple, right?

Then, either post your haiku here in the comments or on your own blog and link back, so we can read it too!

Have fun!

What's on your mind?

