November Catch-Up: NaNoWriMo

Hi everyone!

We’re entering the fourth week of NaNoWriMo!  If you’re challenging NaNo, how is it going for you?  For me it’s been crazy, especially as I fall behind my daily goals and write furiously to catch-up.  As I type, I’m about 19,000 words behind.  Whew!  Even though I fell behind during Sketchtember and Inktober as well, I feel like I didn’t have this much trouble, haha. >_<;;

I don’t mean to imply that art is easier than writing.  It’s not!  Actually, I consider myself more skilled at writing, as I’ve been practicing that for over a decade, and I’ve only seriously been drawing for a couple of years.  Rather than being “easier,” it’s more that during the art challenges, I was able to decide when each piece was finished.  I could spend more or less time on a piece, depending on how much time I had, or how quickly I finished it. During NaNo, there’s a hard goal of 50,000 words, or an average of 1,667 words/day.  If you don’t hit that, then you aren’t done, so it’s a little different.

Though, speaking of Inktober, lemme just pause a second here to add a piece of eye candy. . . .

fast-inktober
This is a plug for the upcoming webcomic!  This is also appropriate advice for NaNo!

As we come up on the home stretch of NaNo, I feel like I’ve already learned a lot.  Like. . .

  1. I *can* write 1,667 words a day.  Not only that, I can write 2000+ words a day!  (3000 is still out of reach, though. Practice practice!)
  2. When you sit down and do something creative for a long time, you actually get more creative!  Crazy, huh?  I guess what they say about creativity being a muscle is true!
  3. It’s okay to deviate from your plot!  It just means that you know the story and your characters better.
  4. Watching the word count stack up feels amazing.  Even if you have to cut some later, each word takes you closer to a finished book.
  5. Even if you “fail” NaNo, you won’t have really failed.  Every word you write is a small victory.  Keep writing – then you’ll win the war!

For everyone who is currently doing a challenge of any sort – NaNoWriMo, or Huevember, or whatever – keep at it!  The finish line is closer than you think!

See y’all in December!

~River

What's on your mind?

