Gemstone Challenge Day 1: Garnet

gemstone-challenge-garnetToday was the first day of the Gemstone Challenge! The theme was Garnet, so I used that for the color scheme.  I’m not so happy with the background, though; maybe if it were a cooler tone, the garnet necklace would “POP” more.  What do you think?

This piece took 4-5 hours, from sketch to finish.  I tried a different art style today!  There are a few things I might fix later – like adding more highlights and changing the color of the lines so it’s a sofer effect – but I’m happy with it for now.  ^u^

By the by, her dress is inspired by Civil War-era ballgowns!  I really love the fashions from that era, they were decadent and rich without being over-the-top a la Rococo (though, I must admit I love Rococo fashions as well. . . hmm). The original sketch had more of the bodice and skirt, so if I ever decide to redo the pic, you’ll be able to see that as well.

Tomorrow’s theme is Amethyst!  So excited!

2 thoughts on “Gemstone Challenge Day 1: Garnet

What's on your mind?

