Home » Reflections » Happy New Year 2017! What’s Your Resolution?

Happy New Year 2017! What’s Your Resolution?

It’s a little late, but Happy New Year, everyone!  I hope that this year is a great one for all of us. (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Can you believe that we’re already a week into 2017? I feel both nostalgic for last year and full of hope and joy for the coming year. On the one hand, 2016 passed by far to quickly – it felt like every time I blinked, another month had passed by – where did the time go? And on the other, I’m happy to begin a fresh year with all the hope and determination that brings.  And part of that is the tradition of New Year’s Resolutions!

At this time of year, it seems like the first thing people say is, “Happy New Year!” and the second is, “What’s your New Year’s Resolution?” Though, lately, I’ve heard things like, “My resolution is to not make a resolution” and “It’s pointless to make a New Year’s Resolution since I probably won’t keep it anyway.”  I’ve even said that myself before!  After all, we’ve all made resolutions that were unrealistic or downright impossible to keep.  That sense of failure when we finally give up is disheartening.  Why should we even bother?

These days, though, I like taking the opportunity to reflect on last year’s successes and visualize one’s goals for the coming year. I think that is a good process, a way for us to get one step closer to achieving our dreams.   If we don’t visualize it, it won’t happen at all, right?  So that’s how I’m approaching my New Year’s Resolution this year!  As a way to get me closer to achieving my dreams. (。◕‿◕。)

With that in mind, here are my resolutions this year:

Resolution #1: Constant Practice, Constant Improvement

Participating in challenges like Inktober and NaNoWriMo this past year opened my eyes to the joys of constant practice.  When you’re writing or drawing every day, you can’t help but improve!  This year, I want to continue that trend and really focus on my skills.  I’m ready to take them to the next level!  (And then, I’ll hopefully have more to share with you guys as well. :P)

I’ve noticed that challenges really get my head in the game, so I’ve already signed up for another: Heather F. R.’s Gemstone Challenge.  It’s two weeks long with a gemstone prompt every day, and it starts today!  I’m very excited.

Resolution #2: Taking Care of Myself

I spoke about this at length in my NaNoWriMo Debrief posts as well – taking care of myself has become a major goal for me because over the past couple of years, I’ve actually made life harder on myself at times because I push myself too hard.  Perseverance and hard work are virtues – but even they can be taken too far, and result in health issues like illness, heart attack, and repetitive stress injuries.  That’s not what I want for my future!  ب_ب

So, this year I’m going to make my health one of my top priorities.  There’s a lot I can do to keep this resolution, whether by working on the most important projects first, or taking breaks to stretch and move around, or eating more healthily.   And, especially, not beating myself up for failing to finish a project in an unreasonable time frame.  That’s probably the best place to start!

~ ~ ~

And there we have it!  Two resolutions to work towards this year.  I’m very determined to make 2017 a great year, and I think my resolutions will help achieve that.  (。◕‿◕。)

How about you?  Do you make the traditional New Year’s Resolution, or do you think it’s useless?  If you do, what’s your resolution this year?  I’d love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2017! What’s Your Resolution?

  1. Pingback: Happy 2017! New Year, New Doll Hobby Plans for A Midnight Sonata – A Midnight Sonata

Talk to me! What do you think?

