Home » Art » Gemstone Streak Challenge Day 4: Diamond

Gemstone Streak Challenge Day 4: Diamond

A digital study of a cut diamond gemstone.Today I took a bit of a breather and decided to do a study rather than a full painting.  Diamonds are fairly reflective, and they fragment the light – that gives them that sparkly effect ✧ – so I had a bit of trouble even with this, haha.  My first few tries were too. . . hmm. . . busy, so I simplified it to get this style!

I’ve had some questions about the program I use, so I’ll mention it here.  All of my recent digital pieces are done in GIMP, though I usually do the sketch by hand.  I know it seems like most artists prefer Photoshop or Paint Tool SAI, but I find that GIMP works for me!

Talk to me! What do you think?

