Gemstone Challenge, Day 10: Opal-Eyed Animals

gemstone-challenge-opal-eyed-animals-v1Today’s concept comes courtesy of my mother, who suggested I do animals with eyes like glowing opals.  (Thank you, Mom!)  Here we have a cat, a fox, and a mouse sitting together at dusk, their eyes glowing in the low light.

This piece took me about five hours from start to finish, and it’s the first colored piece I’ve completed in about a week.  It’s actually a crop of the full piece; I wanted to really feature their eyes.  I’m pretty happy with it!  (Though I’m sure tomorrow I’ll think of things I want to change. . . .)  I’m glad I was able to try something a little different!

Now it’s really late and I’m ready for bed!  See you tomorrow for Topaz~

EDIT: I forgot to mention this, oops!  Today I used custom Fur Brushes by Lhuin on dA.  They were free and very cool!  Even though they’re Photoshop brushes, they work in GIMP too; just put them in the Brushes folder like other GIMP brushes (here’s the article that taught me how to do this).  Thank you, Lhuin!

What's on your mind?

