Gemstone Challenge, Day 9: Sapphire Potion

An apothecary holds her sapphire potion up to the light.

An apothecary holds her sapphire potion up to the light.Yesterday’s theme was Sapphire!  In the past, sapphires were believed to be a medicinal stone.  It was said that they were an antidote to poison, and that it could cure stomachache, colic, and other complaints.*  So here we have an apothecary who has made a sapphire tincture for a patient!  (Hopefully, in her world, it actually works. 😛 ) I really like this character design, so we’ll see if she pops up in a story one day. ^^

I was pretty tired last night, so I was only able to finish the pencil sketch.  Normally, my process goes mechanical pencil sketch –> digital inks –> digital coloring.  If I’m planning to color traditionally (like I did for Inktober), then I’ll use my non-photo blue pencils instead (link to Amazon, review coming soon-ish), but they were expensive and too precious to use if I’m planning to color digitally, haha.  (Also, they’re non-photo blue.  So they don’t scan too well, I hear! XP I should probably try it anyway though, hmm. For science.)

Today’s theme is Opal, and I’m excited to share it with you!  I’m hoping that maybe I can paint it today, depending on when I finish my homework, so it might be uploaded really late tonight.  Keep an eye out!

In the meantime, you should really check out the Gemstone Streak Challenge main page if you haven’t already.  Everyone’s done such awesome work!  Really creative!  And really inspiring, I don’t know if I’d have made it this far if I didn’t have their work to look forward too as well.

*http://academic.emporia.edu/abersusa/go340/students/inmon/

What's on your mind?

