Gemstone Challenge, Day 14: Onyx and Sardonyx

A sketch of a mysterious cloaked woman. By River.

A sketch of a mysterious cloaked woman.  By River. The final theme of the Gemstone Streak Challenge was Onyx.  Before yesterday, I thought that all onyx was black, but apparently onyx comes in many colors! And it also has streaks, like tiger eyes.

Besides the standard black, the variety of onyx that caught my eye was sardonyx, or red onyx.  So this piece was inspired by those colors.  The setting is the dark of night (for onyx), and her dress, the gems on her cloak, and the fairy lights will be red (for sardonyx), I think.  We’ll see how it goes when I do the color test. ^u^

Thanks for following along with me as I tackled this challenge!  It was a lot of fun, and I hope you enjoyed it as well!

3 thoughts on “Gemstone Challenge, Day 14: Onyx and Sardonyx

    1. Thank you so much!

      Yes, I’ll definitely post them as I finish them. I’m working on the Onyx and Sardonyx piece right now – some WIP pics are on my Twitter, and I’ll post it here once I’m done. (^u^)

      Like

What's on your mind?

