Home » Art » Art from the Archives: Blue Mountain Dragon

Art from the Archives: Blue Mountain Dragon

Hello and welcome back to Art from the Archives!  Today I’m sharing with you one of my favorite pieces that I made, oh, about five years ago, I think?  Simply titled Blue Mountain Dragon, it took about 8-10 hours to complete and was the first in a planned series of elemental/nature dragons:

Blue Mountain Dragon by RiverThis picture (and the one I’ll post next week) actually looks better in print than on my monitor.  I don’t know why?  I feel like it’s usually the other way around, but eh!  I’ll take it. 😄

The process for Blue Mountain Dragon was the complete opposite of structured.  I was really only just getting into digital painting and used it as an opportunity to try whatever I wanted.  I blocked in the dragon first, then used complementary blues, purples, and greens on various opacity settings to get that translucent, flowy look.  The setting, sky, and moon were all done afterwards.  As solid objects, it was hard to achieve that same layered look and still make them relatively realistic.

I’m really happy with how it turned out, considering my skill level at the time. So if I ever re-do this picture, it will probably be more of a touch-up than a from-scratch deal.  I’m actually looking forward to it, but gotta finish the Gemstone series first~!

Don’t forget to check back next Friday for the third Art from the Archives post!

Talk to me! What do you think?

