Home » Art » Art from the Archives: Great Fire Dragon

Art from the Archives: Great Fire Dragon

Happy Friday!  Are you looking forward to the weekend?  I know I am! =^w^=

Welcome back to the third installment of Art from the Archives!  Today’s picture is the companion to last week’s post.  It’s the Great Fire Dragon!

Great Fire Dragon by RiverJust like Blue Mountain Dragon, Great Fire Dragon looks better in print than on my monitor.  It’s a mystery~

The process was much the same for this photo.  I started from a sketch, but skipped clean inks and went straight to blocking out colors and layering complementary shades.  The glowing blue light from the orb was a little more difficult to do – deciding where the light would probably be reflected took a while.  I should have added more lighting from the fires surrounding him, too.

Great Fire Dragon is the second and currently the last in the Elemental Dragons series.  I also planned to do an Earth dragon, a Water dragon, and a Air/Wind dragon, and maybe one day soon I’ll get back into it. Goodness knows that these two were among the most fun I’ve ever painted. 😀

Don’t forget, next Friday is the last Art from the Archives installment for now!  Check back then to see what else I found!  Though I can give you a hint – it’s not a dragon, unfortunately. 😉

Talk to me! What do you think?

