Home » Art » Art from the Archives: Kimono & Moon

Art from the Archives: Kimono & Moon

Hello hello!  Welcome back the last installment of Art from the Archives!  Today we continue the Eastern-inspired theme, but take a step back from dragons and focus on traditional clothing and the ever-romantic moon instead.  May I present, Kimono & Moon, featuring my original character Choko:

Kimono & Moon by RiverAnother lineless painting!  It seems that past River was very daring. ^o^  In actuality, I did not set out from the start to make it lineless.  I happened to switch off the lineart about half-way through, and liking the result, I left it off from there on out and adjusted the painting accordingly.

With more opaque and solid objects, I took a different tactic with this piece.  The flat colors were laid down first, with highlights and (more often) shadows laid on top.  The points I am most proud of, here, are the shading on the fabric and the reflections on the floor.  While I missed my chance to paint in traditional tatami-mat or wood flooring, I do like the shiny effect in this piece and feel that that and the curtains give this piece its East-meets-West feel.

One more thing needs to be said before we close this installment: Though I am presenting this as a finished piece, it’s actually still a work-in-progress!  I planned to add a butterfly motif to the kimono, and have butterflies perch on her finger and on the flower posies.  While I think the piece works as it is, my eye misses the butterflies. TT_TT  One day, I shall add them and re-release this piece.

Thank you for joining me for this journey through the Archives!  I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.  While this is all I have to share for now, I’ll keep an eye out for more old, neglected pieces and revive this series when I find some more. 🙂

If you missed the previous installments, or just want to see them again, click here!

Until next time~!

Talk to me! What do you think?

