Colored Pencil Painting: Portrait

Worked traditionally with colored pencils for a change of pace!  Portrait of a girl I saw in a dream – I’m pretty sure she has a story to tell, but I don’t know what it is yet. . . .  But kimono remain one of my favorite things to draw, so I’m happy!  I got to draw a hakama too. (^u^)  I was a little careless, so the paper got a little crinkled, but otherwise it turned out quite well!

This time I used a new brand of colored pencils, the Staedtler brand.  They seem a bit softer than Prismacolor Premier pencils, and I liked them a lot.

Here’s a close-up:

I enjoyed working on “Portrait” a lot, more than I thought I would.  It was very relaxing. . . I’d like to learn more colored pencil techniques and try them out, too.

Time: 10 hours

Tools

  • uCreate sketchbook with 75lb paper
  • Staedtler colored pencils, 48 pack
3 thoughts on “Colored Pencil Painting: Portrait

What's on your mind?

