Home » Announcements » A Little Announcement: What I Used for Inktober Review Series Starts Tonight

A Little Announcement: What I Used for Inktober Review Series Starts Tonight

Starting tomorrow, I’m pleased to begin a series of reviewing art supplies!

We’ll start with the supplies I picked up last year for Inktober.  As I started NaNoWriMo right after Inktober ended, this series is a little late in the game, but hopefully my review will be useful no matter what time of year it is. :3

As last October was the first year I challenged Inktober, I had only a few inking supplies: a few calligraphy pens, a set of Prismacolor pens, some gel pens from the dollar store, and a box of Crayola markers left over from my school days.   While technically that was more than enough to do the challenge, I saw an opportunity to go shopping and I took it. :3  I was able to try out a few supplies I’ve had my eye on for a while, so I’m glad for that!

These are what I bought last September:

  • Caran d’Ache Non-Photo Blue Pencils (like animators use!)
  • Tombow Dual-Brush Pens in Grayscale
  • Sakura Gelly Roll Pen in White

Added to my Prismacolor markers and colored pencils, I had a lot of options for the challenge.  :3  Since then, I’ve picked up a set of Lestrat AquaMarkers and ProMarkers and a set of Staedtler colored pencils, so I’ve been having a lot of fun experimenting with those as well.  I’m pleased that I’ll be able to share them with you!

Since I have supplies that cover the whole drawing process from sketch to final touches, I thought it’d be interesting to use all the supplies to draw and paint a picture (or two!).  Here’s a sneak peek of what I’m working on, starting with the blue animator pencil:

Sketch for the review series – comic!River!

Reviews will start later tonight with the blue animator pencil and will be published every Tuesday for the next few weeks!  (Posts on Friday / any other day will continue to be “what I’m working on” and process posts. 🙂 )  I hope you enjoy!  And if there’s any art supply I’ve used before and you’d like it reviewed, let me know and I’ll add it to the pile. :3

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Announcement: What I Used for Inktober Review Series Starts Tonight

  1. Ooh, that sketch is amazing – how cool that you did Inktober, that takes a lot of dedication! And it’s always good to take any excuse to buy more supplies. 🙂 Thanks to my sister drawing a lot, I’ve heard of a lot of these materials, despite being the furthest thing from an artist myself. 😛 I’m looking forward to reading your reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Claire! Inktober was a lot of fun and I’m looking forward to doing it again next year. 🙂 The first review will be up shortly. I’m looking forward to hearing your comments! 😀

      I have to disagree, you’re definitely an artist! What are your amigurumi if not art? And I’ve always considered writing another form of art. So you can consider yourself part of the club! XD

      Like

Talk to me! What do you think?

