Home » Art » #Mermay: Chibi Mermaid Claire

#Mermay: Chibi Mermaid Claire

Mermaid Chibi Claire - Small Version - by River on Strike A Spark

Wow ~ the colors are very dramatic today ~ OwO

Hello hello!  Hope you all had a good weekend. :3  Today I have another sketch to share with you!  Presenting Claire, another character from our upcoming webcomic, in chibi mermaid form!  😀  Can you spot all the fishes swimming around her?

Mermaid Claire was a lot of fun to draw, even with the difficulty of drawing her hand(s).  I feel like my style is slowing evolving towards a style that is consistent and something I can be happy with.  I’d like to improve my sketching speed, but I’m sure that will come as I continue practicing. 🙂

Cloud noted that the watercolor paper we were using was a little thin, and rippled when she was painting, so today I sketched on a thicker 300 gram paper from Strathmore.  The texture was different, more like little blocks – a more mechanical texture.  It holds pencil well, though, so I was happy with that!  I’m looking forward to seeing how it looks when painted. :3  If you paint with watercolors, what’s your favorite paper to use?

Stats

  • Time: 2 hours
  • Tools: Strathmore 300 gram watercolor paper, 0.7 mechanical pencil

 

2 thoughts on “#Mermay: Chibi Mermaid Claire

  1. It looks wonderful so far! She turned out so pretty! And look at this little shy fish hiding behind her hair ! Hihi.

    Great to hear that you feel evolving towards a specific style! I exactly know what you mean and I hope I will so too someday x3
    And thank you for your comment on my blog, due to it I found yours, as I was a long time abscent before 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Yureya! Haha, good job spotting the hiding fish! I think that’s my favorite part. 😀

      Thank you for the follow! I’m happy we could connect! Like I said in my comment, I’m looking forward to seeing the new direction you’re taking with your blog. 🙂

      Like

What's on your mind?

