Home » Art » Experimenting with Watercolor: Mountains and Rivers Landscape

Experimenting with Watercolor: Mountains and Rivers Landscape

Watercolor painting of mountains and rivers, with birds flying above.

As I mentioned before, I’ve been sketching on watercolor paper with the full intent to paint them traditionally, rather than digitally – but I’m a little nervous to start.  What if I ruin it?!  You know the feeling?  With digital art, you always have CTRL+Z, but with watercolors, you can’t change it once you put down the paint.  So nerve-wracking! 💦 💦 💦

I didn’t want to let that feeling hold me back, so I looked up some tutorials on Youtube and started painting some small pictures to break the ice!  This painting of mountains and rivers was made using simple techniques from this video by Mr. Otter Art Studio:

The idea of a simple landscape using washes sounded easy enough for even a beginner!  And it was a lot of fun. 😀  Though, I think I’ll practice a bit more before I try to paint one of the sketches! (^__^);;

And a close-up of the painting:

Have you tried painting with watercolors?  How did you like it?  Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Experimenting with Watercolor: Mountains and Rivers Landscape

  1. Wow the result is so awesome! I love it, the colors are very beautiful such as the gradients! I’m glad you took this step and tried it. So now we hopefully see more 🙂 (and yes, Strg+Z one of my best friends XD)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m glad I took this step too. 🙂 And I’ll definitely share more here – I’m working on another that I’ll share soon!
      (It’s really such a nice tool – digital paintings are so much fun thanks to CTRL+Z! 😀 )

      Like

Talk to me! What do you think?

