Home » Art » More Landscapes in Watercolor

More Landscapes in Watercolor

Watercolor mountains.

I’m still playing around with watercolors – though I think I may be confident enough to start with the illustrations soon. 😀  In the meantime, here are all three landscapes I’ve painted in watercolor (including the first one I shared there on the bottom right).  It’s interesting how, by varying the amount of water amount of washes, one can intensify or dull the paint to create depth.

On the bottom left I tried something new: a mountain sunset.  As the day turns to dusk, often one can only see the silhouette of the mountains against a fiery sky.  Unfortunately, I chose to use flat black for the mountains at first – what a mistake! Though I wiped some away and used some blue for highlights, it still didn’t turn out quite right.  Next time I’ll use a dull, gray-ish blue mix for the mountainous silhouette.

 

2 thoughts on “More Landscapes in Watercolor

Talk to me! What do you think?

