Blogging break! + Random question!

Just wanted to let you all know that I’ll be on a blogging break for the next 2-3 weeks as I will have limited access to a computer.  I’ve scheduled a few posts to show you some of the work-in-progress paintings I’ve been working on in my free time, but I won’t be around to respond to comments – sorry! 😦  But I’ll do my best to get back to you as soon as I can.

And, so this post isn’t just depressing news, how about a random question?  For all you artists, writers, and crafters out there, this one’s for you: What’s your favorite technique to use, and what new technique are you excited to try out?  Let me know in the comments!  I’m looking forward to seeing your responses when I get back! ^^

By the way, my current favorite digital art technique is to use a grayscale layer to check values.  I did this for Onyx and Sardonyx, and whoa did it help me with the lighting!  For example, here’s a wip of the grayscale layer that I saved but never posted LOL:

Screencap crop WIP of Onyx and Sardonyx.
She looks kinda scary in black-and-white. (^_^);;

So yeah! Let me know what your favorite technique + new technique you’d like to try are in the comments!  And I hope you all have a wonderful few weeks! (^u^)

6 thoughts on “Blogging break! + Random question!

  1. We will miss you! Take care and come back soon 🙂
    The picture is so magical wow, and yes I think the greyscale is a cool technique too, since you can totally focus on the moodyness and lights in the pic, before concentrating on colors and so on.
    To be honest there are lots of art styles and techniques i adore, but never find “what” they are called or with which tools can I create such a look :< but oh well I want to try out (one day) a more semi-realistic style! But the fact that I am still so bad at posing and drawing bodys… should concentrate there I guess!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I missed you all too. I’m really glad to be back. ^^

      Thank you! I’m glad you like it. 🙂 Yes, exactly that! The greyscale technique is really helping with the lighting, so I’m glad I tried it again.

      Oh, I know that feeling! When you see a great technique but can’t find it. 😡 So I really appreciate when the artist talks about their techniques. ^^ Anyway, do you have any pictures/styles like that in mind right now?

      Ooh, a semi-realistic style! That sounds like fun. ^^ I wouldn’t say you are ‘bad’ at posing and anatomy, though! You have a very cute, stylized style. 🙂 I can see why you want to practice if you’re interested in a semi-realistic style, that’s why I’m practicing it too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Welcome back again!! ^-^

        Yes I also do appreciate it, when people are willing to help or at least making a little tutorial!
        Thank you soo much! Your so kind! Well lately there is one thing distracting me from drawing (even my blogging) so much XD And I can’t help myself ~ Argh also even not finished my Corrin pic…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks! (^o^)/

        Ahaha, no problem! It’s just the truth. Art is what we make it, right? So we should draw what we like without worrying quite so much about whether we’re “good enough” at anatomy, or perspective, and so on. As long as we still enjoy drawing, we’ll improve! Your style is very cute and distinct already, so don’t worry so much! (Though, I don’t always take my own advice. . . . orz. Haha.)

        Ohh, what’s this? Something distracting? Does its name begin with “Final” and end with “Fantasy” perhaps? XD How is the game going, by the way? Have you leveled up a lot?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Your words are so kind and really uplifting! Thank you so much, you are totally right, sometimes I do forget this a lot myself! But let’s give your best to have a great time ^^

        Ahh hehe XD nearly! I really love the game and a few weeks ago I reached lvl 51. But then Splatoon 2 was released on the Nintendo switch ~ and well XD playing it a lot with my bf it is awesome and fun!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ahh, thank you. blush You’re right, we should do our best to have fun! I’ll be cheering you on~

        Ohh, I see! I’ve heard good things about Splatoon 2. It’s great that you’re able to spend time playing it with your bf! 🙂 And level 51 is really high, congrats! XD

        Like

What's on your mind?

