Home » Art » Digital Painting “Heiress” – Finished!

Digital Painting “Heiress” – Finished!

"Heiress" by River - watermarked version.

For her seventh birthday, they had her sit for a portrait, that their people might see their future queen.

After weeks of work, “Heiress” is finally finished!  ~(˘▾˘~) (~˘▾˘)~

If you’ve followed along with my progress on “Heiress” from the start, you know that there’s been a lot of changes from the beginning.  From a gray-scale lighting test, to adding color (and adjusting it!), to this polished final image, “Heiress” has been both a struggle and an opportunity to try new techniques.

Here’s the progression:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The one thing that I think I really improved in the final polish was going over her eye again to make it more sparkly so it would “pop” – it really added a lot of life to the picture. Unfortunately, in hindsight I think I over-rendered the image, and lost some of the depth that’s present in the original colored image.  So, next time I’ll try polishing the eyes first (to give that pop of life) and go from there, and try to retain the bright/dark ratio more.

It is no joke to say that this painting is the one I’ve spent the most time on, ever: over 40 hours total, over half of which were spent just polishing up the picture after I added color.  Whew!  So time intensive – but I do like the result.  (✿´‿`)

How about you?  What projects have you finished lately, or think you’ll finish soon?  And what’s the longest time you’ve spent on a single project?  Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Digital Painting “Heiress” – Finished!

  1. She turned out beautiful. I really like the lighting and color scheme. Coloring is not easy, especially all these folds and gold elements…but great job.
    40 hours though…wow… I need that time when I sew, because I often make stupid mistakes and have toopen some spots again. But I barely have the endurance for drawings – maybe that is something I have to work on xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Rachel! 😀 Yeah, the coloring wasn’t easy. That’s why it took 40 hours, haha!

      Ooh, I hear you. Ripping out seams is never fun, is it? But sometimes it’s necessary to get the quality. I guess it’s easier in GIMP to undo when I make a painting mistake – just hit CTRL+Z, lol! And speaking of your drawings, I’m looking forward to seeing more of your doodles soon!

      Like

What's on your mind?

