Summertime Portraits

Summertime Cloud - a painting by River of Studio Luminessa.

I’ve been collecting professional artists’ markers for a while, but I’ve always been a little nervous to use them.  Unlike digital art, traditional work – with paints, with pens, with markers – has no “undo” button.  Yes, there are techniques to cover and incorporate mistakes; still, it is nerve-wracking for an artist who grew up with the safety net of CTRL+Z.  So while I sketched these portraits in June, they remained only sketches while I thought about what to do with them.  Leaving them as a sketch was no good, of course, so with a little nudging from Cloud, I finally sat down to ink and paint them last week.  And if I messed up horribly, I could always re-do them digitally, after all. . . .

Luckily, I did not mess up horribly, so here they are!
Summertime River - a painting by River of Studio Luminessa.
Summertime Cloud - a painting by River of Studio Luminessa.

The markers were a mix of Promarkers and ShinHan Touch markers (both alcohol-based) and a single pink Aquamarker (water-based).  I found that the Promarkers and Touch markers blended quite nicely, and the Aquamarker layered nicely after the alcohol layer dried thoroughly.  My Sakura Gelly Roll pen provided highlights – a real life-saver when you accidentally color over, say, the whites of the eyes, haha!

Stats

Time: 22 hours for both

Materials: mechanical pencil, Prismacolor Premier .05 pen, ShinHan Touch markers, Promarkers, Aquamarkers, Sakura Gelly Roll (white)

30 thoughts on “Summertime Portraits

    1. Who, me? Watch anime? Nah. . . whistles innocently

      All joking aside, I do love to watch anime & read manga. I’m currently catching up on Sweetness & Lightning – it’s so cute! Do you watch anime? What’s your favorite?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh, Fullmetal Alchemist is a favorite of mine as well! It’s such an engrossing story. I haven’t watched the others you mention, though several people have recommended Attack on Titan so I might have to check it out next. :3 One series I really enjoyed was Erased, just finished watching it for a second time this summer and already thinking about a third watch-through, haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, there’s so many great anime to watch, and they keep making more to boot! ^^

        I’ll add Attack on Titan to my to-watch list, then. Seems like an interesting premise!

        Like

      3. I’ll keep it in mind! Thanks again!
        That’s how you tell it’s a good series, for sure! When we watched Akatsuki no Yona / Yona of the Dawn, Cloud and I just had to see what happened next, so we’re happy that the manga is being translated now. But it hasn’t caught up to the anime yet. . . I hope it does soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. They turned out great! And i have to say you have a good taste of colors too! Both pictures are sooo cute! You are talented in many ways of art! Wether digital or not! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😊

      The colors turned out brighter than I expected. I’m not very good at picking out which colors to use, for markers. So I’m happy you think they turned out well. 😀

      Like

    1. Thank you! ❤
      I’m in the same boat. . . my collection is growing and growing, but I still want more. . . ! Now I’ve got my eye on some more colors for my marker collection (which is rather limited atm). What’s your favorite art supply to collect?

      Like

    1. Ooh, Prismacolors and gel pens, hm? How well do you find that they blend? The only gel pen I use is white to add highlights. Lately I’ve been thinking of using Prismas to shade a marker painting, as my colors are so limited it might add some depth.

      Like

  2. I really like your skin texture and both are very cute.
    And also like Bob Ross always said: “There are no mistakes, just happy little accidents!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nana! ❤ I like how the skin texture came out too.
      Always have to remember those “happy little accidents!” It’s a good mantra to have! 😀

      Like

What's on your mind?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.